Donald Cohen Fellowship Program Coordinator

Ayesha Irshad Mian, MD

Dr Ayesha Mian is the Immediate Past Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and the Founding Dean of Students of the Office of Student Experience at Aga Khan University (AKU), Karachi, Pakistan. She received her adult and child and adolescent psychiatry training at the University of Texas, Houston, and worked as faculty at Baylor College of Medicine (BCM) before returning to Pakistan in 2013, where among other initiatives, she started the first CAMH fellowship training program in the country.


She is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) and sits on the Executive Council of the International Association of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions (IACAPAP). She is a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, UK, in recognition for her leadership in medical education.


She has been recognized for her leadership, mentorship and service by various organizations; she was recently awarded the highly prestigious Jeanne Spurlock Award for Diversity and Culture by AACAP. Her other recognitions include the Laughlin Fellowship by American College of Psychiatrists (ACP), Presidential Award and Outstanding Mentor by AACAP, Robert Fellowship for inspirational mentorship, Fulbright and Jaworski awards in educational leadership by BCM and a Lifetime Achievement Award by University of Missouri, Department of Psychiatry. She is a Harvard Macy Scholar 2012, FAIMER fellow 2017- a fellowship in medical education leadership and an ELAM (Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine for Women) graduate, 2019. She is currently leading the Gender Equality Program for Aga Khan University-Global, and is one of the founding members of a global movement, Women Emerging from Isolation.


Dr Mian is a Board Trustee for Mukhtar A Sheikh Hospital (MASH), Multan, Karwan-e-Hayat, and Vital Trust, Pakistan. She is also on the Board of Advisors for Kazim Trust, Sabeen Mahmood Foundation and the Entrepreneurship and Youth Development Society, SEED, Pakistan.