The IACAPAP gives awards to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to child and adolescent mental health (CAMH) worldwide. There is the IACAPAP Medal and the International Contribution Award.


The IACAPAP has awarded its Medal to the following recipients:

Year Recipient Location
1998 Luis E. Prego-Silva Uruguay
2004 Winston Rickards Melbourne, Australia
  Ahmed Okasha Cairo, Egypt
  Giovanni Bollea Rome, Italy
  Kari Schleimer Malmö, Sweden
  Jack Davis Madison, USA
2005 Kuo-Tai Tao Nanjing, China
2008 Dainius Puras Vilnius, Lithuania
2010 Barry Nurcombe Brisbane, Australia
  Colette Chiland Paris, France
  Helmut Remschmidt Marburg, Germany
  Kang-E Michael Hong Sungnam-si, Korea
  John B Sikorski San Francisco, USA
2012 Ginger Anthony Maryland, USA
  Elena Garralda London, United Kingdom
  Joseph Rey Sydney, Australia
2014 Andres Martin New Haven, USA
  Joaquin Fuentes San Sebastian, Spain
  Suzanne “Suzie” Dean Melbourne, Australia
  Per-Anders Rydelius Stockholm, Sweden
  Yi Zheng Beijing, China
2018 Julie Chilton New Haven, USA
  Amira Seif Eldin Alexandria, Egypt
  Alexis Revet Toulouse, France
  Helena van den Steene Antwerp, Belgium

The International Contribution Award

The International Contribution Award is sponsored by the Korean Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (KACAP) and is presented by the IACAPAP to recognise the accomplishments of a senior individual who has made outstanding contributions to CAMH in the developing world. The award consists of a plaque and $1500.

Year Recipient Location
2004 Michael Hong South Korea
2006 Brian Robertson South Africa
2008 Sir Michael Rutter United Kingdom
2010 Myron L. Belfer USA
2012 Amira Seif Eldin Egypt
2014 Joseph M. Rey Australia
  Wei-Tseun Soong Taiwan
2018 Hesham Hamoda USA

Dr Daniel Fung is married to Joyce and the father of 5 grown up children. He is currently the Chairman Medical Board of Singapore’s Institute of Mental Health since 2011. Dr Fung is an Adjunct Associate Professor at all 3 medical schools in Singapore.

Dr Fung is currently the President of the International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions. He was awarded the National Day (Public Service Administration (Bronze)) Award in 2017 and the National Medical Excellence Award (Team) in 2018 for his work on community and school based mental health.

Dr Fung is interested in the treatment of emotional and behavioural disorders in children and he has advocated for the development of child mental health services and strategies through his research

Dr Fung’s research is supported by the National Medical Research Council and other agencies. He has co-authored over 160 peer reviewed research papers (118), books (32) and book chapters(18).

Dr. Christina Schwenck is professor for Special Needs Educational and Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology at the University of Giessen, Germany. She is a trained child and adolescent psychotherapist (specification behavior therapy) and a trained supervisor. Her research interests comprise selective mutism, conduct disorder, and children of parents with mental illness. She has published 56 articles in peer-reviewed journals and several book chapters on childhood mental health. She is editor of three book series on child and adolescent psychotherapy, psychology in school and psychotherapeutic children´s books. In her free time, she follows her passion for photography around the globe.

Dr. Schwenck is currently the Secretary General of the International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions (IACAPAP). Her vision is to strengthen training and promotion of child and adolescent mental health professionals, particularly in low- and middle-income countries, including long-term mentorships for early career scientists and clinicians in this important field. Furthermore, she aims at alluring allied professions for IACAPAP to enhance active collaboration between professions in order to provide optimal supply for children and adolescents with mental health problems.